Is physical therapy going to be painful?

Before I leave the room after all of my evaluations I always ask my patients if they have any questions. I also ask, if what I just explained to them makes sense? At least 50% of the time, if not more, I get “ is this going to hurt? It is a very good question considering the majority of people have no idea what to expect from physical therapy. When people are already in pain to start the last thing they want is to have more pain. Also, at this point, people can be fearful of movement. Therefore, it can become challenging trying to explain what to expect. Let’s talk about this question of pain and if it’s really something to expect when you go to PT.

I absolutely hate when people say that I love putting them in pain! I also get very upset when patients and PT’s alike will state PT stands for pain and torture. Or a PT is a physical terrorist. Really? Is that what most people think we are and do to people? Let’s get one thing straight. My job is to promote movement, function and mobility using your own body to heal itself. I am not here to try and put you in the most pain possible. I have no desire to try and increase your pain nor do I get excited when I do. This is a misconception that a lot of people have and it needs to stop.

Yes, there are times that you may have some discomfort from certain movements, activities and treatments. Take the shoulder for example. A patient that has RTC surgery is going to have pain during PT because you have to move the joint in order for you to gain motion. The shoulder is healing from surgery and that is another reason that it is going to be painful. Any time you have limited motion you are going to experience some sort of pain/discomfort because the joint is not moving properly. It’s not a sign for me to see how much pain I can put you in. It’s just a guarantee that you will be in some sort of discomfort because of the limited motion the joint has.

Will you experience some sort of pain during PT? Depending on what you are coming for the answer is yes. Other times PT can and should be very relaxing and calming. General soreness from activity and exercise is not what I consider pain. It’s just your bodies way of telling you to move your ass more often and you wont feel this way. If you are seeing someone that calls themselves a pain and torture expert or refers to themselves as s physical terrorist I suggest you find a different place to go.

2 thoughts on “Is physical therapy going to be painful?

  1. Well I never thought PT ever stood for that. Yes there were times I didn’t want to come. But I did it for myself, the doctor and the PT person. And without people like you we wouldn’t be able to function in the world without flipping out on someone. Because of the pain we have and how you help us control it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

