Ask questions and educate yourself before you get cut


Educating yourself as well as being educated about your body and some of the injuries that we have is very important. Google is a very powerful tool that we use for different things throughout the day. You hear people all the time saying, “Just google it!” It’s so easy isn’t it? It’s also very easy to ask questions about what is going on. When patients are seen by a physical therapist, a PCP, a surgeon or dentist questions should be asked by both the patient and practitioner. Communication is key to the success of the treatment set forth. As a practitioner you need to know details about what the patient is going through. You need to know what type of symptoms they are experiencing so your course of action will follow that. As a patient you need to know what is going on and what is going to be done about it. Do you think this is important?

I was just evaluating a patient after he had had shoulder surgery the other day. The script said eval and treat, status post right shoulder surgery. I had started talking to him about when his surgery was and asked him a few questions about what was done. I knew he did not have a rotator cuff repair, but I was unsure as to what was actually done because the script was so vague. I said what exactly did you have done to your shoulder? The patient looked at me with a straight face and said “ I have no idea what the doctor did he just told me I needed surgery.” WHAT????? Are you kidding me? I didn’t say that to the patient, but I was for sure thinking it. What kind of person would just take the doctors word for it and let them cut into their body part without even knowing what they were doing? It makes absolutely no sense to me. Now, I want to give the benefit of the doubt to the surgeon because I’m sure he explained something to him. Or did they?

This isn’t the first patient I’ve had like this and it wont be the last. Are they putting too much trust in their surgeon? I would say yes they are. I would never recommend to do a treatment on a patient without first explaining to them exactly what was going on and what we are trying to do to help it. Educating yourself about your condition through self searches and questions is highly recommended and a big key to help yourself get well. I’m not suggesting to self diagnose yourself. I am simply suggesting that you research your problem so you can have some sort of knowledge about your condition, then ask questions. Knowing exactly what is going on helps understand why things are being done. Don’t just let a medical professional treat you without knowing exactly what they are treating you for. We all have to be proactive in our care and take action to be more informed about what is being treated and why. This, in my opinion, will help clinician and patient relationships as well as trust. Educate yourself and stay informed, only good can come of it.

Leave a Reply

