Things I’ve learned from a man I never met


Actions speak louder than words! This is a statement that I have heard all of my life. I have even said it to people myself. When I was younger I really didn’t grasp the concept behind it. I mean, I would hear my parents tell me that, or a teacher tell me that, but I never fully understood what it meant. Your actions are so powerful! What you do on a day to day basis defines you as a person. How you do something, when you do it and if you come through with it makes all the difference. What good is it to sit and talk about all of the things you want to do in life but never actually do them? You can have all the goals in the world, but if you never strive to accomplish any of them where does that leave you? When I was younger I would always hear grown ups say, “If I knew then what I know now boy would I be better off!” Or, “ I wish I would have…” You get the picture right? Actions speak louder than words! Say that to yourself over and over until you truly understand it.

I go to the gym 4 days a week and I see a plethora of different people there. Some people come with their husband or wife. Some are friends that get together, some are by themselves. I even see people that come in just to use the tanning beds. I will see the usual suspects because I am very regimented and I go at the same time practically every day. Sometimes I will see different faces. Some people are just there to socialize and others are all business. For the past year I have seen this guy that caught my attention. I see him almost every time I am there. Every time I see him he is working! I would say that he probably works harder than anyone I see at the gym. It’s not because he wants to…he has to! The man that I am referring to has a neurological condition. I’m not exactly sure what, but it seems as though he was born with this disorder or he had some sort of traumatic injury. I have seen when he gets dropped off in the front of the gym. It takes him at least 5 minutes to get from the car to the front door…and it’s only 10’ away! I have watched what he does over the past year of seeing him enter the building. He first walks from the front of the gym to the back which I would guess to be 100-125’. It can take him 16 minutes! I know because that is how long it takes me to run 2 miles on the treadmill. It takes him that long to walk 125 feet, but he does it every single time! He will find a bench to sit on and start doing leg exercises on his own. Exercises similar to what I would give to my patients. I watch him walk from machine to machine struggling at times because of fatigue. He gets frustrated, but he does it. And if he has to use the restroom forget it! There goes at least another 20-25 minutes round trip! This man has to deal with this on a day to day basis and he is killing it!

Actions speak so much louder than words can! Seeing this man on a daily basis focused, fighting and striving to make himself the healthiest version of himself is so inspiring! He is someone we should all think of when we decide we want to make an excuse not to do something. Do you think he wants to go to the gym every day? Do you think he enjoys the fact that it takes him quadruple the time to do something as it does someone else? I am not trying to speak for him, but I sure as hell wouldn’t enjoy that!  

The next time you are having a bad day and just want to give up I want you to think about this post and this man. I know that every time I want to skip out on the gym I think of this guy! I know he will be there no matter how he feels. I’m sure if he doesn’t go he will pay for it. This is what helps him get through his day. This is what keeps him going and makes him functional. His actions speak loud! I know because they have impacted me, and I have never even met him!

Leave a Reply

