Consistency is key!

ā€‹

Ever since I can remember I have been a consistent person. Whether it was in school, playing sports or at work, I have always tried to stay consistent. I learned a long time ago that the key to doing something well and getting results is consistency. My siblings still give me a hard time about it. I’m always on time or early wherever I go because I like to be consistent. My sisters on the other hand…not so much! So they can understand the frustration of my obsession with this. 

Just the other day I had a patient frustrated about their results so far. I told them let’s look at your attendance in the past month. In a 6 week period she had been here a total of 6 times. Treatment times varied and the days of the week had changed as well. She could have easily been here double that amount. I asked her about her home exercise program and she said she hadn’t been doing them consistently. I can tell you now it doesn’t take a genius to figure out that she was not going to perform well! I get this all the time! And I get every excuse in the book as to why. So what did I do about it? I had a long talk with her about her attendence, her times she scheduled, her days that she scheduled and her home exercises. I explained to her that she had no
consistency in any aspect of her treatment and that I was not surprised with her results because of this. Her not being consistent caused a chain reaction of failure. Whether it’s consistency in the amount of treatment, times you schedule, days you schedule and even the PT you are seeing, they all play a key role in your success in treatment. 

I totally understand that at times life gets in the way. Things just don’t work out the way you planned and other events take precedent. But here is the thing, if you are not consistent you will never get the results that you want to with anything in life. Think of it this way, you want to learn a new language because you are visiting Europe next year. You enroll in a class and you go once a month for 6 months. Is that consistent enough to actually learn something? We all know the answer to that. I know that’s an extreme example, but I preach this to my patients and to others all the time. 

I preach consistency to my son almost ever day. He loves baseball and wants to get better, but I tell him he has to be consistent with all aspects. I tell him “practice makes better!” Not perfect, but better. His approach in the field and at the plate have to be consistent each time to get better. The more consistent you are the better you will become and excel! 

Leave a Reply

